The 7th Annual ARCS Research Conference at Northwestern University

Published May 31, 2015

2017-03-21 12:21:47

ARCS 7th Annual Research ConferenceThe 7th Annual ARCS Conference was hosted by the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University from May 13-15, 2015. The Conference Chair was Dylan Minor, Assistant Professor  of Managerial Economics & Decision Sciences at Kellogg. Junior and senior scholars from 8 countries attended to discuss the latest corporate sustainability research from professors’ and doctoral students’ presentations and roundtable discussions, and to participate in lively conversations on sustainability innovation and policy. Here’s the link to the 2015 ARCS Conference Program.

Several ARCS awards for scholarly contributions were presented at the conference. Caroline Flammer, Assistant Professor of Strategy at the University of Western Ontario (Canada), received the ARCS Sustainability Scholar Award, given to an “untenured, emerging scholar in the area of corporate sustainability who is likely to make significant contributions to the advancement of scholarship and practice through a body of work that is rigorous, impactful, and which speaks across disciplines”. Frank Wijen, Chair of the ARCS Nominations Committee, stated that “Caroline’s rigorous research and innovative techniques have led to multiple, single-authored publications in top-tier management journals. Her work has been awarded prestigious prizes and had been featured in the media. A well-filled pipeline of promising research projects suggests that Caroline’s star will continue to rise and shine.”

The conference organizers also awarded the ARCS Outstanding Paper Award to the 3 best papers out of 121 papers submitted. This award, based on the research paper’s potential impact on management practice and rigor of analysis, was issued to papers examining monitoring practices, corporate governance structures, industry self-regulation, social perceptions, and production – reflecting the interdisciplinary breadth of ARCS scholars. The winners are listed below.

ARCS Conference attendees also voted on their own conference paper favorites, choosing three ARCS Conference People’s Choice Award winners from among the presenters. These winners are also listed below.

The ARCS Board, the annual meeting of which immediately preceded the annual conference, elected Frank Wijen, Associate Professor of Strategic Management, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University, and Beril Toktay, Professor of Operations Management, Scheller College of Business, Georgia Tech, to the ARCS Executive Committee for 2015-2018 terms.

The next ARCS Conference will be held at the Leeds School of Business, University of Colorado Boulder in May 2016. The Conference Chair is Jeffrey York, Assistant Professor of Management and Entrepreneurship.



Monitoring Global Supply Chains
Jodi Short (UC Hastings)
Mike Toffel (HBS)
Andrea Hugill (HBS)

Social Perception Microfoundations of Corporate Social Responsibility and Irresponsibility
Catherine Shea (Northwestern)
Olga Hawn (Boston University)

A Market-Based Framework for Quantifying Displaced Production from Recycling or Reuse
Trevor Zink (Loyola Marymount)
Roland Geyer (UCSB)
Richard Startz (UCSB)


Category Promotion: How B Corporations Respond to the Competing Demands of Standing out and Fitting In
Joel Gehman (University of Alberta)
Matthew Grimes (University of Alberta)

The Dynamics of Consumer Behavior: Novelty and Framing Effects
Omar I. Asensio (UCLA)
Magali A. Delmas (UCLA)

Under Pressure: The Causal Effect of Financial Analyst Coverage on Long-Term Capital Investments
Mark DesJardine (Ivey)*


One response to “The 7th Annual ARCS Research Conference at Northwestern University”

  1. […] Competing Demands of Standing out and Fitting In — won the 2015 Peoples Choice Award from the Alliance for Research on Corporate Sustainability (ARCS). This year’s conference was hosted at Northwestern University’s Kellogg School […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ARCS serves as a vehicle for advancing rigorous academic research on corporate sustainability issues.

Learn more about us and how to become a member.

Join our mailing list for updates on articles, events, and other news:

© 2021 Alliance for Research on Corporate Sustainability
ARCS serves as a vehicle for advancing rigorous academic research on corporate sustainability issues.
P.O. Box: PO Box 400314
United States